2011 AGM Recap

The Irish Ice Hockey Association’s 2011 Annual General Meeting (AGM) took place on Sunday at the Roganstown Hotel & Country Club in Swords, Co. Dublin.

Although attendance was not as high as it has been at some of the IIHA’s previous AGMs, the turnout was impressive considering the difficulties experienced in the 2010/2011 season and the day was full of positive optimism for the future.

It was explained on the day that the Directors would remain as they have been since Sunday, 1st November 2009 in light of the fact that no applications for the Director positions were received prior to the AGM other than those already currently holding the positions. This is also because changes to the Directors can only take place at an EGM and under company law, the IIHA must at all times have a minimum of two Directors. So, as it stands, the current Directors need to remain in their positions for the time being.

The IIHA plans to call an EGM in the coming months for the purposes of changing the IIHA’s Memorandum & Articles of Association so that the Directors have a 2 year term going forward (as 2 years was agreed upon by consensus by all those in attendance at the AGM), and also to possibly hold an election for the Directors as a number of individuals showed an interested in the position on the day. The IIHA will of course give its members notice of the EGM in due course.

For the Executive Committee positions, only three applications were received and they were as follows:

•President – William Fay (proposed by William Fitzgerald and seconded by Mark Bowes)
•Vice-President – Vytautas Lukosevicius (proposed by Mark Pepper and seconded by Dimitri Muskulidi)
•General Secretary – Dean Kelly (proposed by Seanna Conway and seconded by Evelyn Kelly)
•Treasurer – No applications received
•Director of Player Operations – No applications received

These three individuals were duly elected to the respective positions while other individuals put their names forward for the positions of Treasurer and Director of Player Operations at the AGM itself. The IIHA will co-opt individuals into these positions over the next month.

As such, following the AGM, the Directors and Executive Committee of the IIHA are as follows:

•Director – Seanna Conway
•Director – Kevin Kelly
•Director – Vytautas Lukosevicius

•President – William Fay
•Vice-President – Vytautas Lukosevicius
•General Secretary – Dean Kelly
•Treasurer – n/a
•Director of Player Operations – n/a

We would like to thank all those who attended the AGM including representation from the IIHF and Irish Sports Council. We would also like to thank Derek Tuite and the Roganstown Hotel & Country Club for all of their assistance on the day. We would also like to thank Martin Grant for volunteering to record the minutes for the meeting.

We wish everyone a successful season ahead.

We confirm that our organisation complies with The Governance Code for the Community, Voluntary, and Charitable Sector in Ireland.